Album Review

Æpoch Awakening Inception



Æpoch’s debut album “Awakening Inception” is set to be released April 13th. If you’re superstitious, that might be bad luck…..if you’re not it’s just another day.  There is nothing bad about the band.  What really impressed me a lot was Brett’s bass work……the sound of a fretless bass just can’t be mimicked.  His vocals are also another great highlight from Awakening Inception. The artwork is very flashy, I must say.  It’s very sharp and grabs your attention before the music even kicks in! I love how Awakening Inception has serious meaning and is not just another metal album that has a “cool” album title and “cool” song titles.

 Æpoch Fretless Bassist/Vocalist Brett MacIntosh statement about the album:
“This album is a large step forward for us, although most of the songs were started during the time of writing our ‘Æpochalypse’ EP (2015 release) as well, we have had more time to refine them. We are completely satisfied with this effort and hope the fans will enjoy what we have to offer. Awakening Inception as a whole is very dark. There’s no single concept to it, but it is generally anti-human in focus. Touching on topics such as misanthropy in” Burn Them At The Stakes”, to night terrors/sleep paralysis in “Awakening Inception”, to space and science to mental illness in “Delirium Of Negation”. “Serenity Of Non-Existence” is even about an out of body experience I had when I was younger.”

Awakening Inception Tracklisting
1. Time: Perspective / Ouroboros Reborn (Ft. Sanjay Kumar of Wormhole & Callum Clark of Ending Tyranny)
2. Delirium Of Negation (Ft. Stevie Boiser of Equipoise/Ashen Horde/ex-Vale of Pnath)
3. The Expiration
4. Tabula Rasa
5.Mentally Raped By Christ
6. Burn Them At The Stakes
7. Serenity Of Non-Existence
8. Awakening Inception (Ft. Hideous Divinity’s Enrico Di Lorenzo)
9. Karmasphyxiation (Ft. Matias Quiroz of Bleak Flesh)
10. M.D.M.A. (Methodical Doctor Murderous Acts) –CD Bonus Track

Æpoch is:
Greg Carvalho – Drums (Brazen Bull, ex Ostium Nex, live for Becomes Astral)
Brett MacIntosh – 5 string Fretless Bass / Lead Vocals (Brazen Bull)
Kyle Edissi – Guitar / Backing Vocals (on “Time: Perspective” &  “The Expiration”) (Invicta, Raider)
Taylor Wroblewski – Guitar (Brazen Bull)

Shoutout to Matias of Bleak Flesh for a killer guitar solo on Karmasphyxiation! The guitar work between Kyle and Taylor kept me busy throughout the album.  Very good drumming from Greg, as well.  There are no boring points at all….it’s honestly pretty tough to lose interest. It’s a well structured and very technical album that articulates there is a great future for heavy metal you just need to look harder. Æpoch kicks ass. Preorder the album and help the dudes keep on doing what they love to do.


Æpoch band photo #1_preview2018 Bloodshot Dawn - Aepoch tour updated dates_preview.jpeg

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.